In the tradition and spirit of past Catastrophic Disruption Workshops, CD07 aims to bring together people working on all topics related to collisions between small Solar System bodies: laboratory experiments, internal structures, rotations, binaries, asteroid families, numerical modeling, interpretation of data from small body space missions, and calibrations for new missions, such as Don Quijote (ESA, a test of asteroid deflection strategies) and Hayabusa (JAXA, a sample-return mission). A number of specialists, young researchers and students in this field will have the opportunity to present their work and broadly discuss these topics. The workshop will take place over 4 days, with seven half-day sessions, three social events, and one free afternoon. The format and pace of the meeting will be relatively relaxed and should stimulate open discussion - the most important aspect of this kind of meeting.

In order to allow fruitful discussions and be able to fit into the conference hall, the number of participants will be limited to about 75.

Participation of young researchers (including Ph.D. students) in the field is strongly encouraged as a source of fresh ideas.

There will be no poster session.

Contributed talks will be given 20 minutes with 10 minutes for questions and discussion, and invited reviews (IR) will have 40-45 minutes with 10-15 minutes for discussion. In this format, we will have a dozen invited reviews and some 20 contributed talks. It will be possible to arrange some "back to back" communications (both for IR and contributed talks) if the topics are closely related and the authors agree.



Keith Holsapple (University of Washington, USA)
Guy Consolmagno (Specola Vaticana, Vatican City State)
Erik Asphaug (University of California at Santa Cruz, USA)
Derek Richardson (University of Maryland, USA)
Alberto Cellino (Osservatorio Astronomico di Torino, Italy)
Don Davis (Planetary Science Institute, Tucson AZ, USA)
Willy Benz (University of Bern, Switzerland)
Andrew Cheng (Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore MD, USA)
David O'Brien (Planetary Science Institute, Tucson AZ, USA)
Petr Pravec (Astronomical Institute ASCR, Czech Republic)
Akiko Nakamura (Kobe University, Japan)

The detailed schedule will be available within the third announcement (May, 2007).

Last updated 05/04/07